Tendulkar wins Cricketer of the Year award

Sachin Tendulkar capped a fine year with the most coveted cricketing reward in recent times ‘The Sir Garfield Sobers Cricketer of the Year’ Award as the maestro glittered bright amidst a galaxy of leading players at the LG ICC Awards night here on Wednesday. Tendulkar became the second Indian to win the award after Rahul Dravid bagged it in 2004.

After scoring 1,000 Test runs this year besides becoming the first man to score a double hundred in ODI cricket while South Africa wilted against him at Gwalior, Tendulkar scored another double at the awards function as he also won the ‘LG People’s Choice Award.’

When asked about getting the award, Tendulkar smiled and quipped: “Better late than never.”

Ever the team-man, Tendulkar said: “This is also a reflection of what we have achieved as a team. Over the last one year we have played in some important games — like the recent one at Mohali where V.V.S. Laxman and Ishant Sharma showed a lot of character.”

“This last season has been really special for the entire team,” Tendulkar, who also received the People’s Choice Award, said. “I think right from the start of the season, when we won in Sri Lanka and I scored a hundred in the finals, and from there on the season took off for us. We became No. 1 in the Test rankings, something we all wanted to achieve, and we’ve been able to maintain our performances in the last ten months.”

Tendulkar said Gary Kirsten, the India coach, had played an important role in the success of all the batsmen. “He has been instrumental in making all the batters play plenty of deliveries in practice sessions, he himself throws thousands of deliveries,” Tendulkar said. “Gary has been able to keep us in the right frame of mind, whatever areas we needed to work on, he is making sure we are addressing that.”

Tendulkar fought off competition from Sehwag, Hashim Amla and Graeme Swann, the other nominees in the Cricketer of the Year category. Previous winners of the Cricketer of the Year award include Rahul Dravid, Andrew Flintoff, Jacques Kallis, Ricky Ponting, Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Mitchell Johnson.

During the period under consideration for the award – August 24, 2009 to August 10, 2010 – Tendulkar scored 1064 runs at an average of 81.84 in ten Tests. He made 914 runs in 17 ODIs at 65.28, and also scored the format’s first double-century against South Africa in Gwalior.

ICC Test World XI: M.S. Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag, Simon Katich, Sachin Tendulkar, Hashim Amla, Kumar Sangakkara, Jacques Kallis, Graeme Swann, James Anderson, Dale Steyn and Doug Bollinger.

ICC ODI World XI: Ricky Ponting (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Shane Watson, Michael Hussey, A.B. de Villiers, Paul Collingwood, M.S. Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Daniel Vettori, Stuart Broad, Doug Bollinger and Ryan Harris.


Source : The Hindu & Espncricinfo

No Replies to "Tendulkar wins Cricketer of the Year award"